Stretford Grand Prix

I have fond memories from running at the Stretford track in South Manchester 12 months ago, when I dipped under the four-minute barrier over 1500m for the first time, so it was great to be back again and in decent form.

My week leading up to Saturday nights British Grand Prix race was one of complete rest and relaxation, with a short 300’s session and the rest easy running, with the race being a real target of the summer. A big reason for this was because I was lucky enough to be placed in the B race of the 1500, a race which the whole field held PB’s 4-6 seconds quicker than myself!

Approaching the bell

This made the race much easier tactically for me, as all I had to do was sit off in the opening exchanges and stay out of trouble. I was third from last through 800m in exactly 2:00, and felt much better than expected operating well above PB pace.

As with previous races I have struggled in the third lap of the 1500, so I really focussed on making a surge from 800m to the bell and managed to get ahead of a few athletes before taking the bell in 2:45. The last lap as they say ‘takes care of itself’, and I felt full of running into the final 150m, finishing in 7th place in 3:46.96 out of the 13 starters.

A video of the race can be seen in full here –¬†http://www.athleticos.org/coverage/249542-2012-British-Milers-Club-Stretford-Grand-Prix/video/646274-1500m-B-men

This was a five second personal best, but something I was confident would come this summer, as sessions at all ranges of distance have been real quality thus far. Crazily in the last 18 months, my 1500m PB has now improved by 33 seconds, a feat I think i’d struggle to achieve at any other distance again in my career. I have to thank the BMC (British Milers Club) for putting me in the second fastest race of the night, despite a much slower PB than fellow athletes, so hopefully i’ve justified my place for future events.

Running under 3:47 for 1500m should hopefully open up invites to World, European, Commonwealth and Olympic Senior Trials in the future, but unfortunately this came just a few weeks too late for this years version, the 2012 Olympic Trials.

This week has again been about keeping myself ticking over, but with a few more higher intensity sessions, before I race next Wednesday night, dropping down a distance to 800m at the Welsh Athletics International in Cardiff.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

