Changing with the Seasons

After an indifferent finish to my 2015 season, I am slowly beginning to build the foundations for 2016 and beyond. It was disheartening not to finish with another PB, but I knew that stepping up to 5k from 1500m was always going to be a style of training I wouldn’t adapt to overnight.

My second-ever paced 5000m was again out in Belgium at the star-studded KBC Nacht meet. I was in the third (out of 6) fastest 5000m amongst athletes from across Scandinavia and Western Europe. As happens all too often, the majority of the field sped off and I found myself near the back slowly picking through athletes. My performance mirrored that in Belgium a couple of months back, as a tough 4th km left me a bit to do to dip under 14, and for the second time I got within 0.xx of a second, running 14:00.94 with a 58 second final lap. 

CKcXaHpWwAQuQ0_

To finish things off I headed north to Sweden, racing 3000m. I was keen to deliver a quick 3k performance before the season was out, but I just felt flat throughout and struggled to 8:17, a PB by 6 seconds; a long way off what I feel capable of. 

2015 Summary:

  • 1500m – 3:43 – =PB 
  • 3000m – 8:17 – PB
  • 5000m – 14:00 – PB – 24th UK Rankings
  • 5k Road – 14:02 – PB  – 3rd UK Rankings
  • 10k Road – 30:08

Since then, I have had three entire weeks of NO EXCERCISE – my biggest rest period in five years. It was a strange feeling not packing my running kit or constantly clock watching when I eat. Having raced an NCAA XC season in 2014, it was important to rest well after 55 consecutive weeks of training though, and I feel as if I have come back refreshed, both physically and mentally. 

11755203_10155804895250137_4400794270508243651_n
KBC Nacht, Belgium

Fast forward to tonight, I am five weeks back and up to 75 miles this week. The emphasis this Autumn is on a measured build-up focusing as much on strength and mobility as dirty miles (technical term). I have made my way perhaps too far north to Loughborough in order to continue to pursue running at the highest level I can. 

My training environment is at a far more professional level than I have been part of before. Working at the home of British Athletics offers me world class facilities and world class athletes to work with on a daily basis. Thanks to the help from Total Oxygen, ADMF and Bristol & West, I am working afternoons around morning/evening sessions as an Elite Sports Tutor at the college. I work with international sportspeople on developing their maturity in sport to be equipped for University and beyond. 

Nothing major race-wise coming up, just a focus on being stronger, more consistent and injury free. 

2 comments

Leave a comment